stock photo

News Release


Cerro Coso Holds Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony

May 21, 2012

Ridgecrest, California – Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society held its induction ceremony for its newest members on Friday May 4, 2012 in the Cerro Coso Community College Student Center. Distinguished Phi Theta Kappa Cerro Coso Alumni, Morgann Havig, was the keynote speaker.

Sixty students were inducted into the Beta Kappa Chi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honors Society at Cerro Coso Community College for the 2012-2013 academic year:

Phi Theta Kappa Officers for the 2012-2013 school year were sworn in and include: Tammy Kinnan, President; Jennifer Buel, Leadership Officer; Parveen Majeed, Membership Officer; Earleen Halstead, Recording Officer; Rex Winters, ASCC Representative; Katelyn Shive, Mammoth Representative; and Haley Ziegler, KRV Representative.

Phi Theta Kappa is the International Honor Society of the Two Year College founded in 1918. Its mission is to encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide development opportunities through participation in leadership and service. Cerro Coso joined Phi Theta Kappa and established the Beta Kappa Chi chapter in 2006.

These students earned the privilege to join Phi Theta Kappa based on their academic excellence, earning at least a 3.5 grade point average in degree- and transfer-level courses, making them the top 10% of Cerro Coso Community College students. By joining Phi Theta Kappa, they become life-long members of the world's largest honors society, have access to over $36 million in scholarships, and join an outstanding fellowship of scholars.


Natalie Dorrell, Public Information (760) 384-6260